Engagement Groups

ASIC has formed two engagement groups to provide a forum for ASIC and industry to collaborate on the development and conduct of ASIC's recurrent data collection work.

The groups provide oversight of the recurrent data collection projects and its other existing or planned financial services recurrent data collections. Other regulators are also engaged in these groups.

Stakeholder Strategic Reference Group

The Stakeholder Strategic Reference Group oversees the data collection program and provides a sounding board for high-level issues. The group also helps to facilitate ASIC’s engagement with industry.

This group comprises people with senior positions within industry alongside consumer, ASIC and other regulator representatives.

Current members

  • Nathan Flaus, Head of Underwriting and Claims Development (AIA Group Limited)
  • Jacob Somers, Head of Operational Risk & Compliance (Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited)
  • Hans van Daatselaar, Executive Officer (Association of Super Funds of Australia)
  • Lee Alam, General Manager Global Regulatory Affairs (Commonwealth Bank of Australia)
  • Chris Linde, Chief Compliance Officer (National Australia Bank Limited)
  • Dallas Booth, Chief Executive Officer (National Insurance Brokers Association of Australia)
  • Michelle Bain, Executive General Manager - Compliance & Regulatory Affairs (Suncorp Group Limited)
  • Bozenna Hinton, Head of Actuarial - Pricing and analytics (TAL Life Limited)
  • Jacqui O'Dea, Deputy General Counsel and Company Secretary (The GPT Group)
  • Leif Evensen, General Manager Business Performance and Analytics (Westpac Banking Corporation)


Implementation Working Group

The Implementation Working Group provides input on data and project management issues such as selection and conduct of pilots; use of technology; collection and transfer methodologies; and development of a recurrent data collection roadmap.

This group comprises people from industry and ASIC who have knowledge of financial services data; data collection and transfer technologies; data governance; data analytics; and project management.

Current members

  • Dion Thorpe, Business Analytics Development Manager (AIA Group Limited)
  • Marina Harpur, Head of Portfolio Analytics and Reporting (AMP Limited)
  • Hans van Daatselaar, Executive Officer (Association of Super Funds of Australia)
  • Michelle Pinherio, Head of Enterprise Data Governance (Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited)
  • Robert Brown, Chief Executive Officer (Australian Custodial Services Association
  • Geoff Mooney, Head of Risk & Compliance (Charter Hall Group)
  • Michelle Woolford, General Manager, Financial and Regulatory Reporting (Commonwealth Bank of Australia)
  • Chris Malcolm, Head of Enterprise Data and Analytics (Credit Union Australia)
  • Michael Laguda, Manager - Group Regulatory Reporting (National Australia Bank Limited)
  • Stephen Humphrys, CFO (Steadfast Group Limited)
  • Carolyn Taylor, Executive Manager, Data and Transformation Office (Suncorp Group Limited)
  • Garth Heward, Business Analyst (TAL Life Limited)
  • Thomas Bauch, Director of Solutions Consulting (Westpac Banking Corporation)



For any further information about ASIC’s recurrent data collection project or to sign up for updates, please email datacollection@asic.gov.au.

Last updated: 30/03/2021 09:27