media release (21-324MR)

ASIC announces changes to members of the Markets Disciplinary Panel


ASIC is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members of the Markets Disciplinary Panel (MDP), and farewells and thanks the seven retiring members.

The MDP is a peer-review panel that makes decisions about whether infringement notices should be given for alleged contraventions of the market integrity rules.

The new appointees are:

  • Ms Jacqui Byrnes (Barrenjoey);
  • Ms Valerie Kingsmill (Macquarie Group); and
  • Mr Barry Parker (ABN AMRO Clearing Sydney).

The retiring members are:

  • Cilla Boreham;
  • Richard Brasher;
  • Russell McKimm;
  • John Manchee;
  • Mark Pugsley;
  • Pete Robson; and
  • Lisa Shand.

Victoria Weekes has been appointed Deputy Chair of the MDP following the retirement of Cilla Boreham.

ASIC Commissioner Cathie Armour said, ‘The MDP has firmly established itself as an important regulatory tool in maintaining market integrity. These new appointments will ensure that the MDP will continue to have the expertise, experience and diversity to perform that role.’ 

‘ASIC welcomes the new appointees and thanks the retiring members for their service and valuable contributions to the MDP. The outcomes of the MDP are a testament to the quality and commitment of its members’, Ms Armour said. 

Media enquiries: Contact ASIC Media Unit