ASIC began operating in 1991 as the Australian Securities Commission (ASC) replacing the National Companies and Securities Commission (NCSC) and the Corporate Affairs offices of the states and territories.

In 1998 we took on responsibility for consumer protection in superannuation, insurance and deposit taking and the organisation was renamed the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.

ASIC’s role, functions and powers were set out in the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001 (ASIC Act).

In 2010 ASIC took on additional responsibilities for regulating trustee companies, consumer credit and finance broking and for supervising trading on Australian licensed equity, derivatives and futures markets.

From July 2019, staff are employed under the ASIC Act, ensuring we attract and retain people with capabilities to deliver improved market outcomes for all Australians.

Last updated: 30/03/2021 09:23